· I'mBoard Team · governance  · 12 min read

OnBoard Pricing 2026: What It Costs (And What They Charge Extra For)

OnBoard doesn't publish pricing. Here's what its Essentials, Premium and Ultimate tiers actually include, which features are add-ons, what the nonprofit discount really requires, and how it compares for a nonprofit board.

OnBoard doesn't publish pricing. Here's what its Essentials, Premium and Ultimate tiers actually include, which features are add-ons, what the nonprofit discount really requires, and how it compares for a nonprofit board.

How Much Does OnBoard Cost in 2026?

OnBoard does not publish a price. Its pricing page names three tiers — Essentials, Premium and Ultimate — and then tells you the cost is “based on your organization’s needs, including the plan tier and number of users.” To get a number, you request a demo.

Quick Answer: OnBoard (by Passageways) is quote-only in 2026. It sells three tiers — Essentials, Premium, Ultimate — prices by number of users, and marks several features most boards assume are standard, including its AI Suite, SSO, Skills Tracking and Board Assessments, as paid add-ons. Its advertised nonprofit discount of 50% off requires a multi-year contract with auto-renew. No dollar figure is published anywhere. For comparison, I’mBoard is $149/month flat per board — $74/month for EIN-verified 501(c)(3) nonprofits, exactly 50% off every month, every director and every committee included — published on the website, billed monthly, with a free trial until after your next board meeting and no credit card.

If you are the executive director trying to put a number in front of your board before the next meeting, that is the problem in one sentence: you cannot compare OnBoard to anything without first booking a call.

Vaporwave style illustration

What OnBoard Actually Publishes

OnBoard is the board portal product of Passageways, Inc., and it acquired the competing portal Govenda in 2024 — so if you evaluated Govenda separately, you are now evaluating the same company.

What is on the pricing page is a feature matrix, not a price list:

TierWhat OnBoard says it adds
EssentialsAgenda and board book builder, mobile apps, annotations, permissions, baseline security
PremiumEverything in Essentials plus Minutes Builder, Microsoft 365 integration, task management, voting and approvals, surveys, eSignatures, training and support
UltimateEverything in Premium plus single sign-on (SSO), D&O questionnaires, skills tracking, board assessments, director and executive training, Ultimate-tier support

Three things in that table matter more than they look.

First: minutes are not in the entry tier. Minutes Builder, voting and approvals, and eSignatures all sit in Premium. A board whose secretary has to produce minutes recording every motion moved, seconded and carried — which is to say, every board — is not buying Essentials.

Second: OnBoard labels its AI Suite as an add-on. So are single sign-on, skills tracking and board assessments on the lower tiers. Whatever number the account executive quotes you for a base tier is not the all-in cost, and the gap is not disclosed anywhere public. When you take the call, ask what each add-on adds to the annual total.

Third: the price scales with your roster. OnBoard states that cost depends on the number of users. That is the pricing model that punishes exactly the boards this category claims to serve: a 15-director nonprofit board, where most directors open the packet a few times a year, is billed like a 15-person department that logs in daily. Ask whether there is a seat minimum, what a seat costs above it, and what happens mid-term when your board elects two new directors.

Is There a Free Trial?

Yes, but not a self-serve one. OnBoard’s “Free Trial” button leads to a trial-request form, and the page describes solution experts who “help guide your board’s adoption.” OnBoard does not state the trial length anywhere we could find. In practice this is a sales-assisted evaluation, not a signup.

What the Nonprofit Discount Actually Requires

OnBoard advertises a nonprofit discount. Read the condition attached to it: the discounted rate requires a multi-year contract with auto-renew. That is a different product from a discount. You are not getting half price on a subscription you can leave — you are trading two or three years of committed spend, plus a renewal that happens by default unless you give notice inside a window, for a lower headline rate.

For an ED, that condition has a governance consequence, not just a budget one. A multi-year commitment is the kind of obligation many spending policies send to the full board for a motion, no matter how modest the monthly figure looks. “It is only a few hundred a month” and “we are committing the organization for three years” are two different agenda items.

Minimum contract length, notice windows and implementation fees are otherwise unpublished. If you go to quote, ask for all of them in writing before you compare anything.

Why the Price Is Hidden — And What That Tells You

A demo-gated, quote-only motion is not free to run. It needs someone to qualify the lead, an account executive to run the call and scope your board, and onboarding time on the vendor’s side. That headcount is spent on every single deal.

No B2B company staffs a rep-led sales motion to sell a $1,000-a-year product; the cost of selling would swallow the deal. The math only works when each contract is large enough to pay for the people closing it. That structurally floors sales-led board software well above self-serve pricing — which is the real answer to “how much does OnBoard cost.”

We are not going to hand you a made-up band. Any specific dollar figure you find for OnBoard on a third-party site — especially on a competing vendor’s comparison page — is unverified, and we will not repeat it. The written quote you receive is the only real number, and the terms attached to it matter as much as the number itself.

The Questions to Ask Before You Sign

Board portals sold this way share a small set of contract landmines. None of them are exotic; all of them are cheaper to ask about than to discover at renewal:

  • What is the term, and does it auto-renew? How many days before renewal must we give notice, and in what form?
  • What does Year 2 renew at? Is there a cap on the increase?
  • Is there an implementation, onboarding or training fee on top of Year 1?
  • Is the price per user? What is the minimum? What do we pay when the board elects new directors mid-term?
  • If we do not renew, what happens to our minutes, bylaws and past packets? Get the export path in writing. Reviewers in this category have described losing access to their board files after choosing not to renew, and an archive you cannot export is an archive you do not own.

Vaporwave style illustration

OnBoard vs I’mBoard

I’mBoardOnBoard
Published pricingYes — $149/month flat per boardNo — request a demo
Nonprofit price$74/month, EIN-verified 501(c)(3), monthly, no stringsAdvertised, but requires a multi-year contract with auto-renew
15-member board$888/year verified nonprofit; $1,788/year standardUnknown until quote
Pricing modelFlat per board — every director and committee includedTiered, priced by number of users
Billing termMonthly, cancel anytime, no auto-renewNot published; multi-year for the discount
Free trialFree until after your next board meeting (up to 60 days), no credit cardTrial by request form, length not stated
Self-serve signupYes — plus a live demo with no signupNo — sales-assisted
AI in the packetIncluded in the flat priceAI Suite marked as an add-on
MinutesIncludedPremium tier and above
Export on exitFull export sent on requestAsk before you sign
Review ratingNew entrant4.7 on Capterra, 1,000+ reviews

Credit where it is due: 4.7 across more than a thousand Capterra reviews is a genuinely strong signal, and OnBoard has been shipping since 2003. It is a mature, well-regarded product, and nonprofits are one of its named segments.

The question for a small 501(c)(3) is not whether OnBoard is good. It is whether a per-user, quote-only, multi-year product is the right shape for a board of unpaid directors who meet six times a year — and whether half of them will log in at all.

What the Flat Per-Board Price Includes

I’mBoard covers the cycle an executive director actually runs:

  • Board packets — build them, distribute them, and directors sign in with Google or a one-time emailed code, so nobody has to remember one more password
  • AI narrative drafting inside the packet — the ED’s summary written with you, not by you at 11pm
  • Meeting scheduling so you stop chasing RSVPs in a reply-all thread
  • Decisions and action items recorded in the meeting, so what was carried is written down while it is still fresh
  • Minutes finished while the meeting is fresh and filed straight into the archive
  • A searchable archive — ask and we’ll send you a full export, so your bylaws do not disappear with a departed volunteer’s account
  • Read tracking — who opened the packet before the meeting
  • A REST API, CLI and MCP server for the rare board that wants them

One flat price covers every director and every committee. No setup fees, no implementation project, no mandatory sales call.

Who Should Choose Which

Choose OnBoard If

  • You are an association, credit union, hospital system, university, government body or large nonprofit — OnBoard’s named verticals, where it has 20+ years of fit
  • Your board runs D&O questionnaires, skills matrices and formal board assessments as recurring governance work
  • You have a procurement process that expects a quote, an implementation plan and a named account manager
  • A multi-year commitment is normal for your organization, and you have someone who will diary the renewal notice window

Choose I’mBoard If

  • You are the ED of a 501(c)(3) who needs a number before a call, not after one
  • Your board is 5—15 volunteer directors with day jobs, and per-seat pricing makes no sense for people who open the packet four times a year
  • You want monthly billing you can cancel, rather than a multi-year term dressed up as a discount
  • You want the nonprofit price to be the price — $74/month once your 501(c)(3) status is EIN-verified, with no contract attached to it
  • You would rather run one real meeting on the product than be walked through a demo of it

Try I’mBoard free. See I’mBoard pricing or start your free trial — free until after your next board meeting (up to 60 days), no card, no contract, no sales call.

FAQ

How much does OnBoard board management software cost per year?

OnBoard does not publish pricing. Its pricing page names three tiers — Essentials, Premium and Ultimate — and states that cost depends on your plan tier and number of users. No public figure exists, and third-party numbers circulating on comparison pages are unverified. The only way to get a real number is to request a demo and ask for it in writing.

What is the difference between OnBoard Essentials, Premium and Ultimate?

Essentials covers the agenda and board book builder, mobile apps, annotations and permissions. Premium adds Minutes Builder, Microsoft 365 integration, task management, voting and approvals, surveys and eSignatures. Ultimate adds SSO, D&O questionnaires, skills tracking, board assessments and director training. Minutes sit in Premium, so most boards will not be buying Essentials.

Does OnBoard give nonprofits a discount?

It advertises a nonprofit discount — but the discounted rate requires a multi-year contract with auto-renew. Price the commitment, not just the rate: a multi-year term with a renewal that happens by default is a governance decision your board may need to approve. I’mBoard’s nonprofit price is 50% off with nothing attached to it: $74/month, billed monthly, cancel anytime.

Is OnBoard’s AI included in the price?

No — OnBoard’s pricing page marks the AI Suite as an add-on, alongside single sign-on, skills tracking and board assessments on lower tiers. That means a quoted base-tier price is not the all-in cost. Ask specifically what the AI Suite adds to the annual total. AI is one of the most common upsell levers in this category, so treat it as a line item until you see otherwise in writing.

Does OnBoard offer a free trial, and can I sign up without talking to sales?

OnBoard offers a free trial, but it runs through a request form and is described as guided by solution experts. The trial length is not published. There is no self-serve, credit-card signup. By contrast, I’mBoard’s trial starts from the website with no card and no call — free until after your next board meeting, up to 60 days.

Is OnBoard a good fit for a small nonprofit board?

Nonprofits are one of OnBoard’s named verticals, so the fit question is about size and shape rather than sector. Its strongest features — D&O questionnaires, skills tracking, formal board assessments — address institutional governance obligations that a 501(c)(3) with a $250K—$3M budget and a dozen volunteer directors is not yet carrying. Meanwhile the per-user pricing, the quote gate and the multi-year discount condition all work against a small working board. If you are the ED who assembles the packet and takes the minutes yourself, compare the tools that publish a price and let you try them without a call.

Are there implementation or setup fees on top of the OnBoard subscription?

OnBoard does not publish a fee schedule either way. Board portals sold through a demo-and-quote motion commonly carry a one-time implementation or onboarding charge, so ask for all-in Year-1 pricing — subscription, implementation, training and any add-ons — in writing before comparing quotes, and ask what Year 2 renews at.

What happens to our minutes and documents if we leave?

Ask before you sign, not at renewal. Export terms in this category are a contract question rather than a product feature, and boards have found out the hard way that an archive they cannot download is an archive they do not control. I’mBoard’s answer is published: your records are yours — ask and we’ll send you a full export of your archive.

What are the cheaper alternatives to OnBoard?

For a nonprofit board, the honest comparison set is the tools that publish a price — and the free options, which you should price too. Boardable lists $20.99—$35.99 per user per month, billed annually, and also runs a free “Core” plan capped at 50 documents and 3 groups. BoardSpace is $89/month for nonprofit boards of up to 18 directors, monthly, with committees at $41/month each and no free trial. BoardPro lists at $165/month per board with a nonprofit discount that is annual-locked. Societ’s “My Board View” is genuinely free and bare-bones. I’mBoard is $149/month flat per board, $74/month for EIN-verified 501(c)(3) nonprofits. For the full picture, see our board management software pricing guide, the 2026 comparison and the free board management software roundup.

Part of our Nonprofit Board Portal resources — pricing, the honest comparison including the free options, and how the verified-nonprofit half price works.

Back to Blog

Related Posts

View All Posts »